Letter from an Au pair

Six years ago I was starting what seemed to be the most challenging part of my life. Moving out from my parents’ house, it was the beginning of my university years, and little I knew what the future could bring to my life.

Six years. I was going to parties, doing reports, articles, radio and TV. Apparently, I had even decided what I was going to do for the rest of my life.

And you were just arriving in this crazy world.

WhatsApp Image 2017-03-07 at 15.58.10.jpeg

Becoming an au pair is probably one of the most exciting parts of this adventure I’m living. And I’ve only become an au pair when you and your siblings had taken me in into your lives.

It’s almost four months since I met you, my Irish family, and nearly three months that the three shiniest blue eyes wake me up with the sweetest smiles I can get in my mornings (ok, except for Alex, cause he’s not the smiley type).

Today I get to celebrate your 6th bday! And I hope you to grow up to be as kind and sweet just as you are now. Last week, I could sing lá breithe shona duit to your big sister, Kerry, our diva.

Thanks, my lil lads, for all the lessons you’ve given me so far! I know I still have a lot to learn with you. From English and Irish language to Irish dancing, you’ve shown me a whole new world, and I can say that I am lucky as an Irish.

🍀❤

Leave a Reply

